Some argue that patriotism is the primary cause of wars globally. Others feel that it serves to prevent less ethical politicians from running a country and starting wars. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It may be basic reason that countries are willing to start war because of historical background. In the past, there were no as much as countries like present because most powerful kingdoms which had strong army and wealthy treasure invaded half of the world. However, those kingdoms were separated as time passed and their remains are separate and independent states in modern period. So each state has own reason that other lands to belong them due to past history. Also cultural, religious and race differences may encourage people to protect and continue their heredity among other communities live in same country which has wide range of nationality like India, China, Russia. In the other hand, people have common futures which link them to their countries even though they have different cultural characteristics. If some politicians are interested to make ethnic disturbances between communities, it would be resulted national war within the country. Government tends to keep those people in the country in order to prevent out of control. Promotions of country’s common values, for instances, flag, hymn, symbols make people love their homeland and create patriotism for one purpose. In conclusion, I think because external threads and maintenance independency of country, patriotism may help people to understand their role as citizen. But it mustn’t be forgotten that overrated patriotism may crush two parties with each other due to misunderstandings and agreements. Therefore humans should balance their feelings toward their motherland and respect others’ values too.