In modern society, ambition is getting more and more important. How important is ambition for people to be successful in life? Is ambition a positive or negative characteristic? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The modern world is widely favouring a mindset of ambition and links it squarely to success. In this essay, I will argue that while being ambitious is a critical component of successful life outcomes, aspirations can also be detrimental to one's life, especially if they are not achieved. On the one hand, it is plausible to argue that aspiration as a driver of action leads to lifecourse performances that result in progress. It is usually believed that when one is self-driven, they are highly likely to fight patiently for their dreams, taking small, deliberate steps that incrementally raise their chances of winning in life. Even when they face obstacles, they do so with grace, looking forward to the future they aspire. This is the widely recognised formula employed by many sporting people to reach high levels in their professional careers and to sustain these levels well into their prime years. Altogether, this proves that desire can be positive. On the other hand, desire alone does not guarantee progress. Without taking the necessary steps, many highly ambitious individuals fail. In addition, some highly aspirational people are just unlucky, as the universe does not favour them in reaching their goals. Furthermore, sometimes people set over-ambitious goals that are difficult to achieve. For example, many people running businesses miscalculate the projections of profits or market trends and thus observe their enterprises struggle, despite having the zeal to achieve; this trend leads to frustrations and the development of psychological problems, making aspirations negative. In conclusion, while having desires is crucial to making progress in life, non-calculated desires, without follow-up actions, tend to fail. There is a need to balance ambitions with reality, so that when dreams do not come to fruition, people do not break down and suffer from mental health challenges.