Success is often measured in terms of how much money somebody has earned. Do you think wealth is a good measure of success? How else could we measure whether somebody is successful or not?

Some people believe that being successful is essentially measured by the amount of finance or wealth one has accumulated. In my opinion, although being financially well-off is one measure of success, other factors such as academic qualification and extraordinary sporting achievements also need to be considered in measuring accomplishments. Admittedly, having massive houses, luxury cars, millions of dollars in bank balance, and other fortunes are symbols of success status in life. Some individuals venture into entrepreneurship to build wealth and continue to grow their earnings so that they could be counted as successful businesspeople in terms of their wealth. Elon Musk, for instance, the wealthiest man in the world, is seen to be highly successful based on his massive net worth. Similarly, people aim to become highly educated and qualified to get well-paid jobs and work hard for promotions in order to earn huge salaries. However, other forms of measuring one’s achievements must be given equal importance in society. The primary examples of these are academic qualifications such as becoming a Doctor and amazing feats in sports. Even though Doctors, particularly General Practitioners, would generally earn less money compared to business people or corporate executives, however, it cannot be regarded that they are any less successful in society. If everyone only thinks about making lots and lots of money, there would be a significant shortage of doctors resulting in a plethora of untreated people and a major health and social issue. Furthermore, despite some sportspeople achieving remarkable success in the sporting world, not all are super rich. For example, the captain of the champion Fiji 7’s Rugby Team, named the best player in the world, lives in a squatter settlement. In conclusion, society would benefit from a more holistic perspective on measuring success rather than focusing only on wealth.