The international community must act immediately to ensure that all countries reduce the consumption of fossil fuels (e.g. gas and oil). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the consumption of fossil fuels has led to a range of environmental problems and measures should be taken to address this global issue. It is argued that our reliance on fossil fuels should be immediately cut down to tackle this problem, in my opinion, I completely agree with this idea and efforts should be made in order to shift to other energy options. I agree that the consumption of fossil fuels should be reduced. The burning of gas and oil is accountable for most of the emission of carbon dioxide on the planet, and this has resulted in climate change worldwide. For example, according to scientific research, the global temperature has risen by at least 2 degrees Celsius in the past century and a great number of icecaps have melted because of this, which leads to a devastating impact on the natural habitats of wildlife. In order to cope with this issue, humans should reduce the amount of carbon dioxide emissions caused by the consumption of fossil fuels right now. In order to cope with this problem, we should make effort to develop alternatives. If governments and individuals consume less gas and oil now, other energy sources are needed to guarantee households and factories have enough energy supply. Renewable energy is not reliable yet and is insufficient to satisfy our energy needs. For instance, in many developing countries, individuals and factories still rely heavily on fossil fuels and only a small amount of renewable energy is available, such as solar power, wind and hydropower. Therefore, governments should invest in renewable energy as soon as possible. In conclusion, as environmental problems are on our doorstep, I believe that both governments and individuals should take responsibility immediately to tackle this issue in order to provide a prosperous future for our children.