Some people think that all university student should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that students must have complete autonomy in selecting the subject of their choice, while others disagree. The school of thought who disagree with complete freedom of subject selection emphasize that students should only study subjects that are beneficial for them in coming years such as information technology and science. This essay will examine both views and then elaborate on my view. To begin with, world is moving towards more technological advancement and requires graduates of technical subjects. Global corporations prefer to hire only those students who are well-versed with latest technologies and understand the scientific requirements of new machines. For instance, Oracle and Amazon are hiring university graduates who are well equipped with cloud computing an emerging field in computer science. Moreover, over the past many years we have also witnessed the growing interest of companies in artificial intelligence and data logics, all these require individuals who have successfully completed their higher studies especially in subjects that are rich in scientific computing. Hence, it is pivotal for students to learn advanced dimensions of knowledge and skills in practical subjects. On the other hand, interest is the single most significant factor in achieving success especially in studies. Students should choose only those subjects where they feel comfortable, in this way they would be able to focus and work hard with self-motivation. For instance, all the renowned businessmen and entrepreneurs like Warren buffet and Steve Jobs only became successful because of their hard work and motivation in their area of expertise it was only possible due to high interest and motivation. Therefore the liking of subject is necessary for the student to achieve enormous expertise in particular field of study. In conclusion, undoubtedly the practical subjects are essential for the successful careers and the progress of any nation. In my personal opinion, students should be free in studying any subject of their choice this will lead to the growth of scholars in every field who will help the country towards more prosperity and prosperity.