Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the modern world, many people try to learn a second or a third language apart from their mother tongue. Some individuals argue that the sole purpose of this trend is to obtain a foreign employment or overseas travelling, yet others argue that there are other advantages of this trend. In my opinion, there are several other advantages of learning an international language apart from the mentioned benefits. Proponents of this argument believe that learning a language used in other countries would facilitate the probability of finding a job, because most of the current foreign employers request language qualifications to offer positions in their countries. For example, a fluency in Korean language is a mandatory requirement for all foreign job seekers. Apart from this, language fluency would enhance the experience that a traveller can obtain during a visit to a different country, because it facilitates the communication with the service providers of the country. Therefore, it can be argued that the employment opportunities and travelling are the two most important reasons to learn a second dialect. On the other hand, a number of other advantages can also be identified to support the learning of different languages. Firstly, it enables an individual to study different cultures and enjoy the literature written in other languages. For instance, one may not get the same perception by reading a novel translated to a second language. In addition to this, learning languages can increase the odds of finding a local job because language capabilities are readily considered in offering local jobs as well. In conclusion, it is clear that learning international languages facilitate not only overseas travelling and employment but also experiencing cultures and foreign literature. School curriculums should offer ample opportunities to the children to learn different languages used internationally.