Some people like to try new things, for example, places to visit and types of food. Other people prefer to keep doing things they are familier with. Discuss both these attitudes and give your opinion.

Some people choose to explore new things, while others like to continue with their familiar options. Although trying familiar things eliminates the fear of the unknown and reduces the risk of failure, in this essay, I would argue that doing novel things improves the ability to take better decisions in life and aids in enhancing an individual's personality. Proponents of doing known things, again and again, argue that it generally keeps them on the safe side and removes the chances of failure they may face as a consequence of trying a novel thing. For instance, according to them, they usually select a tried and tested restaurant over an untried one because they don't want to suffer with a feeling of wasting money on unpalatable food. However, in my opinion, repeating the same things often decrease courage to face difficult situations in life. It is solely because of the dread of getting unpleasant consequences for the decisions taken during those situations. Further, I would argue that doing unfamiliar things enhances better decision-making capabilities. Perhaps this is because pursuing unknown things pushes us out of our comfort zone and forces us to take numerous decisions according to the circumstances. The more we stay in convenience, the less we judge clearly during adverse conditions. Moreover, it also opens a wide range of possibilities to mingle with new people and share life experiences and knowledge with each other. Consequently, this assists in improving an individual's different qualities like oratory and listening skills, interpersonal skills, and integrity. Hence, it develops the overall personality of a person. In conclusion, while I acknowledge that preferring known things over unfamiliar ones mitigates the risks of failure and the unknown, I would argue that the latter polishes an individual's personality and decision-making ability.