Global warming is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today. What are the causes of global warming and what measures can governments and individuals take to tackle the issue? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Global warming is a very controversial topic. While some folks believe that it is purely fiction, others argue that there are causes and effects that are indisputable. Although there are many issues related to global warming, the major problems are caused by human activity. Since the Industrial Revolution, the worldwide burning of fossil fuels has soared out of control, producing Carbon Dioxide (CO2), which is built up in the earth's atmosphere and trapped heat from the sun. This has resulted in a much hotter planet through a process called the greenhouse effect. In addition to this, continuous industrialisation has produced a surge in the quantity of CO2 produced every year. Moreover, as nations have evolved from agrarian to industrial societies, a rising demand for a higher standard of living has produced an increased number of circulating vehicles that have worsened the situation even more. Coming up with policies that may tackle this issue is a greater challenge. Governments should promptly intervene through legislation, by applying taxes, such as the carbon tax. The latter has been introduced in the USA in the late 90s to reduce emissions produced by factories. On the other hand, individuals should prevent global warming by buying local products rather that weren't shipped from overseas and increasing the use of public transport rather than private vehicles. As a result, the individual carbon footprint could be drastically reduced. To sum up, global warming is an unfortunate result of human activity,,, however there are several solutions that may be put in place in order to reduce its impact.