In Western Countries people spend a lot of money on their pets. They buy special food for cats and dogs, buy them toys and often pay high fees for medical treatment. Some people think this is a waste of money and argue that pets are dirty and dangerous. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a pet? Do people spend too much money on pets?

The two pie charts are comparing the monthly household income spent in the group of persons with low income and with high income. The highest percentage of money spent from people with low income is food and drink. They spend 29% of their income for food and drinks, closely followed by fuel bills, which corresponds to 24%. Only 4% are spent on restaurants and hotels and 5% for clothing. This is very different for the high income group. 23% of money is spent on Miscellaneous. Closely followed by 21% of recreation and culture, while only 11% of the low income group spend their money on recreation. Only 15% of the money is spent on food and drink and 7% are spent on 7%. In conclusion, it is very visible that the distribution of the money spent is very different in the two different groups. High income people are in capacity to spend much more of their money on recreational activities.