In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a tendency that due to the prices of printed books and magazines, people are more willing to read on the internet. Personally, I totally agree with this opinion because this case not only reduces household expenditure but also protects limited natural sources. We have to recognize that reading online provides more advantages compared to scrolling through news and information in papers. Firstly, people are able to reduce the cost which is originally used to purchase printed newspapers and so on. For example, in the past, people spent 20 dollars a week ordering their favourite magazine, while nowadays they only pay 5 dollars for the same content which is provided by online websites. Secondly, this case offers a more convenient opportunity to gain news. In other words, people just need to click some buttons on the smartphone and they can attain interesting information. At the same time, online websites can provide more abundant knowledge compared to traditional ways of reading. From another perspective, reading online is beneficial to reduce pollution and the consumption of limited sources. First of all, encouraging online reading promotes positive changes in companies. The publishing firms can pay more attention to the construction of electronic books and close some factories which always damage the environment, and thus reduce the financial pressure on the company. Meanwhile, fewer trees are required to generate books and papers, which is vital to the ecosystem and habitats. Hence, for sustainable development and a healthy ecosystem, governments should appeal to residents to reduce the frequency of reading printed books. In conclusion, reading online is an unstoppable tendency, which brings great advantages to both individuals and society.