In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computer, the internet and smartphone, more and more people are to starting to work from home. What are the advantage and disadvantages of this development.

In this modern era, there is a growing trend that plethora of individuals are to initiating to work from home. However, the notion of this essay is to discuss the merits and demerits of booming of telecommuting with the expansion of internet and electronic gadgets and those shall be explained in the upcoming paragraphs. On the one hand, of the many advantages, the main merit of this growth is the economic benefit obtained by institutions. To clarify, the compnaies with work from home opportunity acquired a good amount of money as profit because of the reduction in the expense. If the laborers are in office, the institution is responsible of electricity, water, food and all the requirements. However, if the ompany allows a work from home, they need to provide a desktop only. Furthermore, if the workers are in their home, it give them the comfort of their own space and it may aid to improve their working capaity, produtivity and skills. For example, a study conducted by Bussiness students in Kerala in 2022 depicted that, 55% of employees performed well during their work from home time than going to the office environment. On the other hand, though there are merits, there are some drawbacks for this development. Of the many, the main demerit is the over work load. To elaborate, if an employee is in his/her home, there is a chance to compell them to work after their scheduled time and it may adversily effect not only the mental situations but also the health situations of that person. In addition, work from home depends on the internet access and climate conditions in that area and if the worker's home is in a remote area, it will drastically affect the smooth running of that particular project. For instance, there are many individuals who are struggling to get the internet connection in hilly region. To conclude, understanding the merits of using new inventions to work from home such as the economic benefit of that company and the demerit such as the extra work done by each employees, it is hopeful that people will assess and select their working environment wisely in the days to come.