The use of the mobile phone is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so the mobile phone should be banned like smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays mobile phones are everywhere, everybody has one and spends a large amount of time looking at its screen. It is argued by some that these electronic devices can have antisocial effects, as it is the case of smoking, and therefore mobile phones should be prohibited in certain places as the policies restricting the use of cigarettes. While I agree that phones can have a significant antisocial impact, it is also true that it has a social component as well, as well as smoking. Mobile phones have become part of our life lifes. We take our phone everywhere we want to go and we feel anxious if we forget it at home, or even worse, if it gets lost or damaged. These devices can influence our bevaviour and people can even develop a considerable level of independence dependance. As I said previously, I totally support the idea that phones can be antisocial, as in certain occasions individuals can pay more attention to them than to other people around them. However, in this day and age mobile phones also contain an array of social applications that the public use to socialize online, such as WhatsApp, Instagram, WeChat or Facebook. As regards to smoking, some detractors (and I include myself) would say that it is an unsocial pratice, due to the fact that there is many people who cannot stand being close to an smoker and, as a result, they would leave the room inmediately. Nonetheless, this activity could be also considered at a certain point as social. To illustrate this point of view, we can have a look to the breaks workers use to take for smoking purposes, which are also a social situation, as they normally go with other colleagues and socialize. In conclusion, it is no doubt true that phones can be as unsocial as smoking in certain situations, but I do not think it should be banned as tabacco Tabacco, owing to its social potential and its importantace in everyone's lifes life.