Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The quality of the environment has changed over the years due to human-made errors. Most people say that humans as individuals are not responsible for the pollution of the environment but the government and other large business organisations are responsible and they can stop the pollution. I completely disagree with the aforementioned point, and the following essay will elaborate on the reasons for my answer. To commence with, the first reason that environment has been damaged because of humans polluting the surrounding with waste such as plastic bottles, cans and other non-degradable products. As an example, many companies and individuals who use this waste, dump them in their homes or companies without recusing or recycling as a result day by day the environment gets polluted when the waste is pilled up. In countries such as India, and Sri Lanka we can see the roads are polluted and filled with garbage where no one is responsible for cleaning. So, each and every person should know to control their usage of waste materials or practice an effective way to minimise the usage, such as using biodegradable products. On the other hand, the second uttermost reason nature is corrupted is due to the high usage of vehicles around the world. Air pollution destroys the natural habitat in numerous ways. However, people use billions of private cars for their daily usage leaving public transport behind and this eventually leads to polluting nature. Subsequently, to minimise this people can use public transportation. As an example, most developed countries use public vehicles for their daily lifestyles such as trams, trains and buses. Therefore, citizens using public transportation will eventually make the environment cleaner and radically reduce the emission of polluted air. To conclude, I disagree that governments and organisations are responsible to improve the environment, as individuals soles, people are responsible to reduce the waste of materials to nature and reduce the usage of private vehicles.