Computers are being used more and more in education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

It is argued that the adoption of computers is playing an increasing role in schools and universities. This essay will firstly, discuss student freedom as one of the main advantages of this and secondly, outline decreasing levels of face-to-face contact as one of the main disadvantages. One of the main advantages of an increase in the benefit of electronic devices in training is the autonomy it provides recruitment. enlistment have the freedom to focus on whatever topic or subject they want and study it in depth through the internet. A prime example of this is the number of online university courses available to admission, covering a myriad of subjects, that up until recently were unavailable to most learners. This has resulted in more people studying third -level degrees than ever before, at a pace and schedule that suits them. The main disadvantage associated with the increasing use of technology in education is the decrease in face-to-face interaction between students. Students spend more time looking at computer screens by themselves than interacting with each other. For instance, the recent explosion in smartphone use has been at the expense of genuine human interaction. This results in soft skills, such as verbal communication and empathy, being affected. In conclusion, the benefits technology brings to education, such as student autonomy, must be weighed against the drawbacks, such as negative effects on human interaction. Overall, the educational benefits outweigh the disadvantages because human beings will always want human contact and most people will not solely use IT for education.