Social media enable people to keep in touch with each other and learn about the news. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays social networks play an essential role in everyday life of people. While some claim there is a negative side of their usage which might lead to far-going consequences, others believe that benefits of using media apps clearly dominate over the drawbacks. What might be regarded as an explicit downside of social media is that it has an enormous impact on society, the young generation in particular. There is a lot of forbidden content on the Internet, such as cruel photos and videos and films with age restrictions to which teenagers may get access simply by cheating the system. Such things might influence the yet unformed psych of teens and cause certain traumas which in future might be the reason for uncontrollable aggression. Another drawback of using social networks is that lately too many swindlers have appeared online who present themselves as real people and beg for money, allegedly either they or their family member has a serious disease and need monetary aid. As a result, there are thousands of deceived users worldwide. Turning to the positive aspects of using social media apps, it should be mentioned that with their appearance people became closer to one another. Now there is an excellent opportunity to get in touch with family and friends, no matter in what corner of the planet one is. There is no need anymore to wait for vacations once a year to see or hear the loved ones. Another benefit is that social platforms provide an opportunity of being aware of what is going on in the world and useful information, for example: what concerts or activities are being held in this or that city or where to buy a bargain ticket in order to save money. What is more, social networks are a perfect place to make a name. By posting thematic pictures with valuable description, unique photos of nature or marvelous images of handmade craft one might create a successful business and therefore, attract potential consumers. Summarizing the main point, the advantages prevail over the disadvantages.