Some people say that art subjects such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education has long been a public concern, in which the curriculum in high school is one of the hot debates. Some believe that it is not necessary for art courses to be compulsory in the syllabus. Albeit with some feasibility, it is, from my perspective, lacking the consideration of students’ overall development. Granted, in some cultures, the most significant goal for high school students may be to get fully prepared for their college entrance exam, due to such an urgent need, the fundamental courses are most emphasized since they need deep learning and thorough revision. Under this circumstance, there is, actually, not sufficient time left for these learners in senior high to distribute on art subjects such as painting and drawing. In our country, for instance, most high schools no longer set painting or music courses after the first year, yet put emphasis on the main ones which are tested in the college entrance exam, getting everything done on account for their academic performance and more opportunities to get a greater qualification in future. While given the reason above, I still hold the idea that art subjects can be made fixed in the syllabus. To begin with, although with the urgent need to get into frontier universities, teenagers’ will to learn what they want and what they are good at are equally essential, because their future career path can be quite associated with their hobby and capability, doing such things as a job is actually more possible to achieve their job satisfaction, which is most vital for providing them with a long-lasting motivation, therefore boost the economy and maintain the stability of society at large. On top of that, high school students are also in need of a stress relieving session during their intense study, which brings them huge pressure that may be detrimental if further physical or mental problems happen to owe to them. Taking this into consideration, learning art subjects can save these students from endless difficult tasks for even a short while, then they can devote themselves to studying in a better condition, making it more possible for them to be well prepared for the college entrance exam or other tests they may confront in their lives. As mentioned above, I place my opinion in setting art subjects as compulsory not just optional in high school, for the reason that these subjects are truly positive for students’ development and having a promising future, rather than only being overlooked the meaning, which will also be facilitating useful skills to be mature.