Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people consider that students in college are able to learn the subject in which they are interested, others hold the view that they should learn some knowledge which is useful and beneficial to society as well. Personally, I believe that everyone should be able to study the course of their choice. There are various reasons why people believe that universities should only offer subjects that will be useful in the future. For example, people may assert that some subjects like science, medicine, and engineering are more likely to be beneficial than certain art degrees. From a personal perspective, students can seek a promising job and thus earn better salaries if they have learnt the aforementioned subjects and relevant knowledge. On the social level, by forcing people to choose particular college subjects, educational departments can reduce financial budgets which should be invested into non-profit subjects. Eventually, a focus on technology in higher education could lead to new inventions, economic growth, and greater future prosperity. In spite of these arguments, I believe that university students should be free to choose their preferred areas of study. In my opinion, society will benefit more if our students are passionate about what they are learning. Besides, nobody can really predict which areas of knowledge will be most useful to society in the future, and it may be that employers begin to value creative thinking skills above practical or technical skills. If this were the case, perhaps we would need more students of art, history and philosophy than of science or technology. In conclusion, although it might seem sensible for universities to focus only on the most useful subjects, I personally prefer the current system in which people have the right to study whatever they like.