The roads in major cities today are often difficult to travel on. What are the causes of this? What are some possible solutions?

In this day and age, travelling on metropolitan roads has become a matter of great concern. This is mainly due to the lack of proper infrastructure, but it can be controlled by constructing roads with the use of appropriate materials. Amongst the major factors, degrading infrastructure of roads is perhaps the most contributing significant element. This is because, roads have many loopholes, and rainwater collected in this causes travelling issues such as blockage, and companies who build roads use the least quality of materials which increases the chances of breakage of roads. In India, Punjab, to exemplify, 80% of roads have the worsted condition. Moreover, overpopulation is another reason. That is to say, people are more likely to commute from one place to another by using their own private vehicles, therefore, everywhere is loads of traffic congestion on roads. Turning to solutions, higher authorities ought to provide an excellent public transport facility to people so they travel pleasantly without any trouble along with decreasing the fares. By doing this, traffic will be controlled to some extent. Not only this, Companies must build the roads by using high quality of materials and reconstruct the roads where breakage happens. Also, citizens should travel by using public transport instead of their own vehicles. It also assists to make traveling easier and effective. In conclusion, despite the fact that it is quite difficult to travel on roads in cities these days is a major concern we are facing today, if appropriate actions are taken by the government and individuals, it can be controlled to a greater extent.