Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In modern times, the issue of smoking in public places has become highly controversial. Some say that it should be banned, however, others believe that it should not. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the argument and provide my overall opinion. Generally speaking, there are two main reasons why people believe government should forbid smoking in public places, such as hospitals, bus stands, and train stations. Perhaps the main reason why people are in favor of this idea is that cigarette smoke is carcinogenic for the people who breathe it. A good illustration of this is that people who smoke and are secondary smokers can develop serious illnesses such as lung cancer. A further point of banning smoking in public places is that cigarette smell terrible and it’s spread air pollution. If you stand next to someone who is smoking, your cloth will smell like tobacco for the rest of the day. Despite the arguments, others suggest that smoking should be allowed in public areas for several reasons. The main reason why people think that it should be granted is that it could negatively affect some businesses such as bars, night club, and restaurants. As a result, many people could lose their jobs. Secondly, the government could lose a lot of tax revenue from selling cigarettes, this is because fewer people would buy them and pay less tax on them. In conclusion, it must be said that smoking in public areas has become a complex issue with no easy solution. Despite the arguments to the contrary, I very strongly feel that we should ban smoking in public areas. If the government implements this policy, we will have a healthier and cleaner society.