Write about the following topic: Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy. What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Renewable energy is becoming an increasingly popular choice to power households. There are some disadvantages of solar energy like unsuitable weather conditions and costs. On the contrary, there are many advantages such as less environmental pollution and preservation of energy. There are numerous drawbacks. Firstly, in regard to solar power, a constant supply of sun is needed. for example, in the United Kingdom throughout the year, the majority of the weather is cold and wet as we are barely blessed with sunshine. As a result, the panels will only be of use in summer when the sun will be out, meaning that an alternative supply of energy will still be required for the remaining days and will only be beneficial in hot climate countries. Secondly, investing in solar is a costly choice. Installing and fitting the panels themselves, does require a lot of money for instance fitting costs. Consequently, this is a long-term investment and will take time to bring back revenue. Not all is negative as there are many pros for this energy source. It is a renewable source of energy, therefore the supply is unlimited as long as the sun keeps providing its heat. For instance, countries with warmer tropical climates, find that this energy is the most productive in those areas. Similarly, if more green resources are used, nature is preserved and almost no pollution or greenhouse emissions would be produced as is the case with burning our limited resources of fossil fuels. To cite an example, in developing countries, coal is mined and used as a source of energy, causing air and noise pollution and adding to our greenhouse gas effects. Additionally, others believe that in the long run, although the equipment for installation of the panels is expensive. For example, the cost of setting up is very high but due to very minimal monthly bills saving huge amounts of money on monthly bills and decreasing energy consumption, will ultimately pay off the costs. To conclude there are many negatives however, these can be overcome with the help of some government funding and incentives and renewable resources will be able to provide us with infinite energy.