Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time ? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that gap year becomes increasingly popular with students in many societies. Many people claim that having a gap year to travel or work before going to university has its own benefits; however, others think that there are several drawbacks to doing this. My essay will shed light on this argument. On the one hand, there are many drawbacks if students decide to take a gap year before they attend university. Firstly, students may face up with plenty of difficulties when they get back to school, from losing high school knowledge to peer pressure. The reason for this is that after one year they get back to school, their friends who attend university as long as they graduate from high school will have deeper knowledge about their major since these people already learn more than a year. Secondly, young people who decide to have a gap year may feel homesick as this can be the first time they live far away from their home. Last but not least, many risks such as traffic accidents and robbery, and ultimately burglaries are sometimes inevitable for a young student on a long journey. Despite the drawbacks above, we still have reason to think that having a gap year to travel or work may have more benefits. Primarily, students who take a gap year to travel may accumulate plenty of real-world knowledge as they can meet a lot of people from all walks of life. Having a oflot knowledge about the world may have a better insight into the world compared with those who do not travel, contributing significantly to their future occupation. Another plus point is that these young students will have enough time to think about their future careers since they have chances to experience the world directly, resulting in choosing a suitable job that they want to do. In conclusion, high school graduates should consider having a gap year to work and travel or study university as long as they graduate from high school which will best facilitate their future careers since this decision can result in both positive and negative outcomes.