Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free, and have health problems as a result. Why do many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

Many workers do not take enough exercise during the week, even when they have free time, and therefore they suffer from health issues. The main reasons why this happens are a dearth of both time and motivation to exercise. It is a fact that people with full- time jobs are time -poor. Long working hours and overtime, as well as family commitments, make it extremely difficult for working people to find sufficient time to exercise or to participate in sports. For instance, I recall the mother of the kids I used to baby-sit some time ago, and she had to struggle to ensure that she had time for other activities apart from her profession and child-care responsibilities. Likewise, lack of motivation can be another hindrance, as workers may be used to a rather sedentary lifestyle. To illustrate, my work as a translator has led me to a more sedentary life: I have personal experience of having to push myself harder to exercise. A possible solution for the lack of time could be the implementation of relevant legislation mandating dignified wage levels for everyone, as well as fostering sporting activities which can be enjoyed by the whole family during the weekend. These measures would allow people to find more time to do exercise. Regarding the issue of lack of motivation, a mandatory sports hour at the end of the day should be introduced as part of people ’s daily routine. As an illustration, workers would finish their work and participate in some sporting activities organized by the company, a measure from which not only workers but also the enterprise would benefit. To conclude, two reasons that explain why people do not get enough exercise during the week are the limited time available and the lack of motivation, which could be mitigated by introducting effective legislation to create better-quality and better-paid jobs, promoting family sports activities during the weekend, and implementing a mandatory in-company daily sports hour.