New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

The era of evolution and technology made children bound to phones and tablets leading to detrimental consequences at the level of socialization and health, despite the benefits of learning and communication. In my opinion, the advantages exceed the drawbacks of technology,especially in terms of education. To start, the advancement in technology made education accessible to everyone around the world. most of the students had the chance to learn and explore their talents and skills online without the need of attending classes and moving abroad. For example, during covid pandemic children were able to stay updated and continue their studies from home. Moreover, students with common study interests can communicate and share thoughts and knowledge disregarding their location or nationalities, thus breaking all boundaries. Despite these advantages, there were significant consequences to introducing technology to youngsters. Obviously, children at a young age are being isolated from their surroundings and gradually lack vital communication skills. For instance, a recent study published showed that 40% of the growing generation is unable to interact with others and requires therapeutic sessions to overcome this matter that is widely spreading nowadays. Furthermore, the long-term effects can not be ignored as it is noted that youngsters are suffering from obesity due to a sedentary lifestyle and lack of physical activities. Eventually, this will lead to an obvious acceleration in the rate of cardiac diseases such as hypertension and diabetes. To sum up, technology despite its essential role in our daily life, has some serious consequences, especially for younger generations that are more prone to addiction to video games and tablets. I believe that, although technology has major benefits, nevertheless, awareness is required in order to avoid the drawbacks.