Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by gorvernments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, scientific research plays a vital role in our lives due to its contribution to technology and innovation. While many people argue that government should conduct scientific studies instead of private companies, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint. On the one hand, I accept that there are several reasons why the government should play a leading role in undertaking such research. First, it is believed that the results in scientific studies of private organisations are sometimes unreliable, as their primary aim is to boost their profits instead of finding solutions for modern-day problems. For instant, some pharmaceutical companies published false research findings about their products for the sake of selling more and gaining more profits. Moreover, without the government's control, some companies may conduct unethical experiments, such as exposing people and animals to chemical and biological weapons, which poses a great threat to society. Nevertheless, I believe that scientific research by private groups has had its share of several advances in society. Encouraging private companies or individuals to carry out scientific research would boost innovation. That is due to the fact that these companies generally need to be highly innovative in order to compete with their rivals, and therefore work on valuable studies to develop their own products. Take the Apple company, for example, which invented the first wireless Bluetooth earphones, called airports, which are more convenient than regular earphones. Society will therefore benefit from new inventions in a wide variety of fields, such as technology and medicine. In conclusion, I would argue that both private companies and governments should be involved in carrying out scientific research.