Some young people like to copy the behaviour and clothes of famous people today. Why might this be the case? What problems can it cause?

It has become increasingly common for many younger individuals to imitate the fashion sense and general behaviour of celebrities. In my opinion, this phenomenon is mainly caused by the development of social media and the spread of advertisements targeting for young generation. I believe it may have a potential risk of digital addiction and provoke excessive actions in the youth. New social network services are particularly popular among young people as the mobile phone has become one of the most important devices for daily life. It allows junior individuals to connect to not only their friends but many influencers who show their attractive pictures or comment on a variety of topics such as garments, foods, or even politics. Their opinions have a tremendous influence on fans, which leads to changing their thoughts without noticing. According to the data from Japanese news media, a large number of adolescents would make a decision following the influencer’s advice. Additionally, there are a huge number of advertisements displayed on the platform across various categories including games and sports in which younger are especially interested. That merchandise, normally sponsored by gigantic corporations, would be advertised by celebrities, which motivates the youth to purchase. Thus, every younger tends to play similar games, listening to fashionable songs. On the other hand, this trend may cause the extreme use of digital devices. Young citizens spend hours following influencers’ posting on social platforms regardless of their content, resulting in a hindrance to studying and real-world communications. A survey conducted by the university of Tokyo indicated that more than half of the students ranging from 6 to 18 years old spent more than three hours on social network applications daily. Furthermore, new crimes are likely spawned by dangerous behaviours, trying to accumulate good reviews from the online audience. For example, there is a number of highly reputed videos running across inappropriate places such as abandoned buildings, the roof of people’s house, or restricted area. These videos drive younger to do the same unnecessary challenges, causing severe accidents during their attempts. In conclusion, I would argue that the advancement of online social tools and marketing strategies has promoted likeliness in the young group, and it may contain hidden dangers including the heavy use of digital platforms or the agitation of reckless behaviours.