Some people think computer games have negative impacts on children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Online games have been extremely popular among children in recent years. It is argued that the detrimental impacts of computer games on kids are considerably huge. However, others consider that there are positive sides to playing games. On the one hand, there are several benefits of being engaged in computer games. Firstly, young people can enhance cognitive and problem-solving skills as they play puzzle games. That is because such games aid youngsters in possessing strong concentration and solving thought-provoking issues by giving them challenging tasks during the games. Secondly, playing online games would be a great opportunity for kids to be surrounded by like-minded people. In other words, they can make a kind of friends who have a lot in common. Children can interact with players in the form of audio chats and comments in computer games and they are even able to learn foreign languages. On the other hand, it is certainly true that there are harmful effects of playing games on young people. No one can deny that computer games are addictive and children can easily be captivated by them. As a result, this leads to a waste of time and kids may take away their study and essential activities due to overindulgence in games. Another negative side of playing games is health-related problems. The more games children play, the more sedentary lifestyle they develop. Consequently, such a lifestyle invites many physical issues. In fact, one of the chief reasons for obesity is playing computer games excessively because children are often glued to coaches and do fewer activities as they are playing online games. In summary, although there are lots of benefits of playing games for young people such as developing reasoning skills and making friends, some negative consequences like over-dependencies and physical issues exist as well. I strongly believe that it would be acceptable if children played computer games in moderation.