Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some individuals claim that doing unpaid charity work in teenagers’ free time should be a mandatory requirement because it gives benefits both individuals and the community. From my perspective, I am against the above idea and this essay will illustrate the reason. To begin with, unpaid community work is supposed to be done voluntarily only. As minors have different duties and responsibilities, they should have their own right to manage their time as some students might have limited free time and might not be able to do anything else. For example, some individuals need to do part-time jobs such as cashier, waiter/ waitress, tutor and nanny to support their family and their own tuition fee. Meanwhile, others might help take care of their elder family members or help their family business. Furthermore, rather than compulsory unpaid community jobs, offering volunteering jobs with some benefit or perks might encourage the younger generation to participate and it will be beneficial to both parties. Firstly, the community should offer a paid part-time volunteer job in which students will earn a little money to motivate them to join. In addition, when participating as volunteers, students should earn a credible score and can use it in their portfolio when applying for a degree in some major such as sociology and political sciences. To summarise, with all reasons taken into account, I firmly believe that it is not necessary for all teens to do community service as youngsters should have the right to select whether they agree to participate or not. In case some students are willing to do it, community organisations should offer them more options to be volunteers like waged work and credible scores for their future studies.