In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Some nations motivate their students to take a sabbatical year so as to take a job or travel right after graduating from secondary school, and before they enroll in tertiary institutions. There are some benefits and drawbacks for young people who get inspired to do this, as will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, working for a year could have a couple of advantages. Firstly, it might help broaden the horizons of these learners, that is, they may learn new things and ideas. Secondly, having to work or take a trip away from home can help young people be independent. They tend to learn how to fend for themselves, and make right choices in life, as well as developing certain skills that will help them in their future career path. For instance, they can use this year in particular to reflect on themselves, think deeper into their life, in order to choose the most suitable career, in that, they may get to know what their abilities and limitations are. Conversely, in as much as doing so have lots of advantages, the demerits are inevitable. Taking a year to work or travel means that you will be a year behind your classmates. Some of your friends may be ahead of you in class, and this might be an uncomfortable situation. Again, some people might find earning money at that age, and having to be independent more interesting and incredible, therefore, they might find going to the university a waste of time. For example, a friend of mine who followed same suit did not further his education because he was extremely happy with the job he took immediately after graduating from high school. This could happen to anyone who would take a year gap. In conclusion, as in every situation, there are both benefits and disadvantages, however, the mindset of the individual matters most. Some of the advantages are; it helps the young people develop certain skills such as problem-solving skills, and also learn how to be indepedent. As opposed to these, they may be a year behind their peers and some might refuse to further their education completely.