The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern life style. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Convenience foods are becoming increasingly available in today’s markets. They are very popular among working class people and youth population. However, there are two sides on it which will be explained in the following paragraphs. The first and foremost reason of their popularity is reducing the preparation time which is an excellent benefit for those who working Change the form of the verb work show examples most of hours. To explain more, since these foods are usually ready-to-eat and only is needed heating or thawing, maximum five to ten minutes are required for preparation. As an example, canned soups, frozen foods and washed vegetables can be named. Furthermore, the presentation and clean-up would be quick and easy. Since the food is kept and stored in disposable containers and almost adequate for one person, there is no need to set extra plates. Cutleries sometimes are included to the packaging. Therefore, no need for setting a proper table or cleaning up at the end is necessary. Overall, convenient foods have brought comfort and peace of mind to busy working population. On the contrary, some drawbacks are considered in usage of these ready meals. Firstly, the costs of these products are significantly higher than the ingredients needed to cook them. To elaborate, due to packaging, pre-cooking and adding different seasoning, the costs per serving increases. Another obvious con is the high level of sodium, fat, trans-fat and sugar which are unhealthy and may cause heart disease, high blood pressure, diabetes and obesity. In general, the adverse effect of these products will cost a lot and will cause medical issues. To summarize, while the convenience foods make lives more comfortable, the negative aspects of these products can not be neglected. As regards convenient foods, the disadvantages outnumbered the advantages.