Some people believe that a natural ability is needed to be successful at sport, others believe that hardwork and discipline is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Use relevant ideas and examples

Unique abilities are always recognized in the world of Sports. While some individuals believe that talent is enough to gain global recognition, there are others who are of the opinion that adequate and consistent training is paramount. This essay will discuss both schools of thought and provide evidence as to why training and re-training can never be overemphasized. To start with, regular exercise and self discipline is highly beneficial for sports persons. This is because it helps improve their skills and chances of winning. It also makes them have a resilient spirit. For instance, it has been documented that individuals who take home medals after a championship were more dedicated than thier counterparts. Also, a lot of organisations regularly put in tons of money to ensure that their athletes are well trained. Clearly, the hours spent into the training always yield positive results. On the other hand, natural skills have been known to be beneficial for some athletes. There are some individuals who are naturally gifted and this has brought them into the limelight.. For instance Jayjay Okocha, a Nigerian footballer,, was known for his effortless dribbling. Moreso, without those foundational skills, there would be nothing to build on or add more efforts to. In conclusion, in as much as natural skills are essential to be an excellent athlete, consistent field training can never be overemphasized.