These days , more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods of time , either to find a job or to study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties. Discuss

It is widely acknowledged that with the development of globalization and science, most people prefer to move abroad in order to work and study. Some people think that this leads to some benefits and profits for them and other people are against this idea. This essay will explore both pros and cons sides and I will support this view with arguments in the following paragraphs. Firstly, one of the main positives of heading overseas is that it broadens your horizons. What I mean by this is that you have the chance to meet people from different cultural backgrounds. Secondly, moving abroad can lead to a better quality of our life. Taking British people for example. Thousand of people from the UK move to Spanish and Australia every year. These countries have warmer climates and encourage a better work-life balance. In addition, by living overseas, you can gain qualifications and language skills which may improve promotion prospects on your return. On the other hand, culture shock is a major problem. Many people who live abroad for a few years, especially the first years, come across a lot of obstacles such as language barriers, food and general cultural differences. This, in turn, leads to homesickness and some cases a sense of isolation. Another issue is that when you move to a foreign country, you have to make new friends and find your place in the community. This process takes time and can be especially challenging. To sum up, taking everything into consideration although there are several disadvantages of moving abroad, I strongly believe that these cannot outweigh their advantages.