Today food travels thousands of miles from the fram to the consumers. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or a negative trend?

Nowadays when people look at their meals they might find out that most of the food they are eating was delivered by ships or planes from a far away distance. In this essay, I will discuss the factors that cause this phenomenon as well as its respective consequences and conclude with my perception. To begin with, I believe globalization is the main reason for it. Due to technological advanced, we are capable to travel or transport goods in multiple ways. As a result, it changed the way how the agricultural industry functioned; in the past, individuals would grow any crops that can keep them alive, however, people nowadays rely on trading so they started to only cultivate the most suitable and profitable crops. For example, in Taiwan, rice is the staple crop framer nurture, and it has been sold and dispended around the world. As a consequence, due to trading, we are now forming a global village, in which people rely on trading or exchanging products. However, this phenomenon poses detrimental impacts on the environment since it contributes a collasol amount of waste. First of all, food travel from long distances, whether by plane or ship, will use fossil fuels which will cause energy waste. Moreover, using fossil fuels will emit carbon dioxin and will heat up the earth. In addition, shipping products means they have to be fully packaged in order to keep the merchandise fresh, thus this will cause waste in plastic, which is already harming animals. In conclusion, without a doubt food now can travel far distances and people rely on it; however, I believe it is crucial for us to try to reduce buying food from different countries and purchase local products in order to form a more sustainable globe.