Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

These days we see people pursuing similar lifestyles and personal goals as a result of the widespread advertisements. While it is true that adverts are dense to have huge impacts on our daily lives, I personally believe people remain independent in making choices. Though, ad agencies tend to persuade consumers to chase a lavish lifestyle and make excessive expenditure on designer clothes, luxury vehicles, and high-end electronic gadgets. On the other hand, advertisements do not necessarily undermine individual preferences to the extent that people believed it does. First, the way they approach the audience is passive, which means that people can ditch advertisements by turning off their TV screens. Secondly, in general, only a small fraction of the day is spent watching on-air advertising, while a large proportion of time is occupied with education, career development, and entertainment. To illustrate this, a recent study shows that the amount of screen time allocated to advertising remains low across different age groups. Thirdly, adverts have positive implications for viewers by showcasing the technological advances we achieved in different industries, for instance, the latest smartphones equipped with fast charging, the new electric cars introduced with upgraded battery capacity, and modern medical treatments. In conclusion, people are wary of the consequences of the prevalence of ads for some reasons, but I am all for the idea that more attention should be placed on building our attitude towards commercials and constantly developing personal preferences.