Nowadays, there are many television advertisements aimed at children. What are the effects of these advertisements on children? Should TV ads be controlled?

These days we see more and more TV commercials emerging targeting young viewers. The impacts of those vivid images and content on the younger generation can vary from case to case, but I believe in general, people should start moderating and monitoring the ads for the sake of the next generation. Adverting comes with negatives to young people in many ways. One of the most significant influences is children exposed to dense advertisements and cause additional financial pressure to parents since they can be less hesitant to satisfy the younger's requests. Furthermore, by allowing children to continue immersing in the persuading messages, there is a chance that they would switch to believe that one’s success is labelled by the value of the tangible possessions one owns rather than the knowledge and professions on which society thrives. In this case, people need to start intervening and mitigating the negative consequences caused by the overwhelming advertising for children. Since advertising has triggered overbuying in some product segments and leaves families with additional financial pressure, parents should divert that amount of money to other educational areas including reading materials and museum visits which bring more benefits to the young generation. In short, while the widespread use of on-air advertising conveys a wealth of information to children and adds colour to their lives, its negatives should not be easily overlooked and require urgent intervention before they become more severe.