Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause ? What can be done about lack of sleep?

Nowadays increasing number of people have sleeping disorders. While there are various problems which results due to lack of sleep, poor health can be considered as the main concern. This essay hopes to discuss in detail and provide possible solutions. Inadequate sleep causes tiredness, where as the human body needs sufficient sleep to repair the damage cells and organs. While we are sleeping, the body goes on a healing process, which is a must for people to continue a long and healthy life. However, this process gets disturbed when adequate sleep is not obtained. This ultimately results in poor health and can cause diabetes and cancer. For instance there is rising number of diabetic cases in Sri Lanka due to inadequate sleep. There are several solutions available for this issue, the two key solutions that can be suggested is healing through medication and by practising meditation. Powerful medicines are available for people who are continuously having sleeping disorders. However, these should be obtained after a doctor’s recommendation. Further, meditation is one of the easiest ways to relax your mind, which ultimately reduces the stress levels. The governments can educate people on benefits that they can get by practising meditation and adapting it to their daily life. Japan is a good example for this and people of Japan live a very healthy life by practising meditation and they have the longest life expectancy in the world. In conclusion, the increase in sleeping disorders may cause poor health. On the other hand, this can be avoided through medication and by practising meditation. However, in future the main cause for increase in sleeping disorders will mostly be the excessive use of electronic devices.