•Task 2: In many countries today, if people want to find work, they have to move away from their families and friends. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern society, it is quite common for a person to part with his or her family and friends in search of employment. Despite contrary ideas, it is my belief that the benefits such departures bring about are more noticeable. To begin with, it cannot be denied that there are certain drawbacks that leaving families and friends behind may present. Firstly, this can be detrimental to the relationships between family members, which is especially true in the case of parents forced to leave their children behind to find work elsewhere. These children will grow up without the loving hands of their parents, so it is easy to see that they may see their parents as nothing more than strangers. Moreover, as to the leavers, they may suffer emotionally. That is, they may experience a period of loneliness and homesickness when first having to part ways with almost everything they know and start a new life. However, these consequences may not be as serious as they sound. As communication technology develops, it is now easy for people between great distances to see each other’s faces, and hear each other’s loving words by means of social networking or video calling. Though they may not completely replace actual face-to-face interaction, they may do wonders for connecting parents and children, or alleviating one’s solitude. Furthermore, upon leaving home, apart from the possibility of a well-paid job, one, especially young people, may achieve a sense of independence. This is because they will have first-hand experience in dealing with all sorts of problems, from work to everyday life, without guidance and protection from their loved ones. In conclusion, it can be seen that although moving away from family to seek employment may present certain difficulties, I hold my belief that these can easily be eclipsed by the advantages.