Buying things on the internet, such asbooks, air ticket and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping this way outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a steady increase in the popularity of online stores over physical ones in the last few years. Although some people think that this brings about a number of negative consequences, I am of the opinion that this leads to more benefits than potential drawbacks. Arguably, it is more convenient for individuals to shop online compared to buying items in a physical store for the reason that they are able to purchase the merchandise they need anytime they please without having to worry about opening and closing hours. They also do not experience the hassle of going through heavy traffic just to get to a mall or a particular shop as they can do their shopping within the comforts of their homes using various online platforms and mobile applications. Hence, such ease and convenience allow people to save time and energy when shopping.   In addition, this shopping method benefits consumers more as, with stiffer competition and lower overheads, the retail prices of items sold over the Internet are considerably cheaper compared to those available in malls and other physical stores. These online merchants are able to significantly reduce the prices of the goods they sell because they do not have to worry too much about rental, manpower, advertisements, and other overheads. They also source their items from manufacturers at wholesale prices, allowing them to offer these to the market at much more competitive prices. All of these, in turn, result in people saving money, which they can use for other purposes. Finally, this development has resulted in individuals making more informed decisions when purchasing goods. Apart from more choices, there are websites that feature previous customers’ reviews and testimonials, which can help consumers to select the best products based on their needs and standards. Some stores online even offer discounts, perks, rewards, vouchers, bundles, and other promotions, making sure that their customers get to pick the best products at the most affordable prices.   In conclusion, I am of the view that this tendency for people to shop online is largely a positive development. This is not only a hassle-free modality to shop but also one that can help people make better decisions and save them so much money.