Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It has become increasingly common for younger people to spend many hours on their phones. In my opinion, this is a natural result of the convenience that these phones afford and it should be seen as a negative impact as it severely impacts children’s health. There are many reasons why younger people are using phones too much today, one of the reasons is that parents view smartphones as a convenience tool for their children. Most parents are busy and do not have time to take care of their young ones, so they give them a smartphone in hoping that this will keep the child occupied and entertained. It is common to witness a child on a phone in a restaurant or in an airport when their parents are occupied with something else. Moreover, parents can claim that this is to make the child accustomed to technology so they will have no problem using it when they grow up. As far as I’m concerned, the overuse of smartphones can greatly impact the child ’s health. Whether it’s eye damage caused by staring at the screen for too long or it makes them lazy. A large proportion of younger people today tend to sit at home and scroll through social media because there is no need for them to leave the house to chat with their friends anymore. Over time, these habits can threaten their long-term physical fitness. In conclusion, despite the convenience that the phone can provide they gradually hinder the physical health of the child. Parents should be the ones to control how much is too much for their sons and daughters.