some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family. What are tge advantages and disadvantages of a family run business?

Successful businesses are run around the world following different models.Many rich families collectively own some of the most successful ventures around.Pros of having a business within the bloodline include better mutual understanding and trust among its partners while the greed of succession may be one of the cons. On the one hand,family-owned trades offer a number of advantages. One of these includes better understanding and coordination among the members.Families usually have a better understanding of themselves as compared to strangers.For this reason,we usually observe many fallen partnerships between strangers but rarely within the bloodline. Similarly,another factor that gives family-owned businesses an upper hand is trust.Usually,it takes time to trust someone new while trusting a blood relative is easy and chances of betrayal are also quite low. Thus,a trade that stays within the bloodline usually prospers better. On the other hand,some ventures owned by families also face issues that may trouble them.The greed for succession and power is one of the major issues faced by the trade shared by the tribe.Desire to lead usually gives birth to acrimony and rift between the family members making their relations acerbic. For example,some very successful businesses were torn apart because of this greed among the members. Hence,family ventures, however successful they may be,may attract greed for leadership and power as well. To conclude, businesses shared by tribes may have their pros and cons,but, clearly their pros easily outweigh the cons.For family-owned businesses to prosper,the members should let go of greed and give way to mutual respect and support.