Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads

It is generally accepted that the state should invest more of its budget in railways rather than roads. I completely agree with the statement given and this report will attempt to explain why this measure should be implemented. On the one hand, if governments around the world improve the rail system, pollution and the amount of CO2 emissions may be reduced within a few years. One of the most popular causes of climate change is the emissions produced by automobiles such as cars, motorbikes, and other types of private transport, which work with the help of petrol. For instance, locomotives usually work by electricity and their impact on the environment is fewer than cars and for that, the reason the railways should have more part of the budget than roads. On the other hand, it is well known that little ordinary people, who constitute the majority of the country, used to take trains to commute to work, which is usually located in the city centre. In addition, it is a fact that trains have more capacity to accommodate more people than other types of transport, which are on the road. Furthermore, locomotives are faster than cars and if the rail line has good maintenance, which is related to the money that governments spend on it, connections between the cities will see an improvement in their rail network. For example, a trip to Valencia by train is around one hour and a half while my car is almost four hours. To conclude, it is important to allocate money for improvements, helping decrease CO2 emissions, reducing the time spent travelling to other cities and improving the iron network.