In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is undeniable that prosperous countries are experiencing an increase in average lifespan, which may cause problems for each individual or society. Several correlated problems can be carefully discussed. Firstly, the ageing population puts a strain on government’s finance. The elderly are unable to join in workforce, which means the amount of money that government earn from tax reduces. Beside, the government has to spend budget not only on pension but also on healthcare system and nursing homes for the aged. Secondly, in a society, the increasing number of older people has contributed to the decreasing number of young people who play a significant role in workforce. The economy of a country might encounter a number of difficulties because of working population shortage. Take Japan as an example, the population of working –age teens and adults are shrinking. This means that there will be fewer people entering working force, so many firms in Japan have no choice but employing abroad workers who demand for higher pay. Moreover, workers are required to work overtime, which severely affects their health and reduces productivity as well. In order to address the aforementioned issues, several measures can be taken. The first measure would be to call for working people to save more for the retirement. Saving a sufficient sum of money would ensure that the elderly have a better life without depending on government’s budget. Another action should be taken is to raise the retirement age. Aged workers are encouraged to take part in labour force to alleviate the pressure on young workers. In conclusion, growing expectation of life can lead to concerns which are financial burden on the government and lack of working labour and this issue can be dealt with money-saving plan and delay in retirement age.