Some people think that "vertical City" is the best, where people live and work in tall buildings. Others think that "horizontal" City is better, where there are few tall buildings. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although “a vertical city” which focuses on accommodating large population and providing different functions in the same tall building is preferred by some, other people consider “a horizontal city” with less buildings and lower physical densities to be more desirable. While grand buildings in the urban areas grant the ordinary with convenient access to everything, I think that living on a larger piece of land with more open spaces allows us to live closer to the nature and provide more protection against severe damages caused by natural hazards. Admittedly, there are some basic benefits for us living in vertical cities. Firstly, a vertical model is more suitable for crowed, cosmopolitan cities, such as New York and Shanghai. Not only can these grand buildings accommodate more residents and workers with limited supply of land at a reasonable price, but they also provide ease of access to everything, for example, schools, supermarkets, offices, and hospitals. Besides, due to the fact that the majority of the community lives in a relatively small area, public transportation, for instance, buses and subways, can be designed more efficiently to move passengers around. The heavy use of public transportation, in the long run, will benefit the environment by improving air quality. However, despite the advantages above, I believe “a horizontal city” is more suitable for human nature, particularly in areas where land is not scarce but vast and sparsely populated. With low-rise buildings, not only can the residents enjoy the beauty of nature with a panoramic view, but they also are privileged with more personal space and less crowds. There is no doubt that the owner of a single-family house with a garden can get closer to the nature than those staying in the top floor of apartments. Also, safety is a critical factor to consider when we plan buildings. To give an example, in cities where earthquakes frequently occur, it is more practical to construct low-rise wooden buildings. The more high-rise buildings we have in a city, the harder it will be to rescue the local in case of an emergency. In conclusion, gigantic buildings provide convenience and efficiency for modern life, however, living in a flatter neighborhood not only allows us to get closer with the beauty of nature, but it also offers more personal space and protection against natural disasters. Therefore, I believe we should always consider the horizontal style of urban planning whenever it is possible.