Employers sometime ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued by many that enquiry of candidate ’s personal details especially for employment purposes is a positive aspect, however, many disagree with this notion. In my opinion, all such information helps the company to understand the job applicants better and offer them a job that is aligned with their personalities. To begin with, information related to personal life matters a lot in explaining the overall well-being of the candidate. If someone has unfortunate personal circumstances, it would be quite difficult for him to successfully carry out the job responsibilities. Similarly, many jobs require late sittings and work beyond routine hours thus such roles also demand effort from the employees. It helps the employer to develop the job role according to the nature of the employee for example most of the cabin crew jobs in airlines require females who are unmarried; it helps such airlines to ensure that the cabin crew can perform their duties free from personal matters at home. On the other hand, certainly it is discrimination to judge someone based on personal details. It is the right of the candidate to be judged on his or her qualification and performance in job interviews job interviews rather than on information that is beyond his control. Equal opportunity employers always prefer the credentials of the applicant instead of his hobbies or marital status. In addition, employees’ performance is typically based on commitment and understanding of the job duties instead of their personal matters. In Pakistan, usually the jobs in banks do not ask candidates to provide personal details because it does not help candidates to perform their usual banking tasks. In conclusion, I completely align with the notion that companies should require the personal details of job applicants. Not only, it helps the employer to understand the candidate but also offers the right role as per the candidate's personality.