Write about the following topic: In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Of recent, it is being noticed that the young generation in several countries is disinterested in reading newspapers or following the current affairs in media. I presume the main reasons for these is due to the influence of digital media in addition to addiction to games in children. This situation can be overcome if schools dedicate time to current affairs each day, and if parents assign time to discuss the matters with their kids daily. This essay discusses the above in detail. First and foremost, the universe is progressing quickly, especially the digital world, whereby everything is accessible at your fingertips. That is to say, children have become accustomed to phones and laptops where the required information is summarised in form of a line and is often set as a notification on devices. For example, in the event of an occurrence, pop-ups will flash on handheld items, which is deemed sufficient for youngsters. In addition to the above, teenagers are more interested in online games, so spend a substantial portion of their time on such activities, thus losing interest in following the news, or reading newspapers. The issues discussed above can be mitigated if educational institutions dedicate a period daily for discussion of current affairs similar to the practice of news reading. To exemplify, institutes should consider current affairs as a subject, whereby children read, and summarise the current status of the region, thus imposing a reading culture on our upcoming generation which is being forgotten. Further, competitions can be held to increase the effectiveness of the practice which will be a motivating factor for the students. In conclusion, although there is a decrease in the number of students reading or following the latest news of the country, it can be eliminated by ensuring adequate practices or restrictions are implemented to promote the olden practices.