Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax on fast food would reduce the problem. Do you agree?

Most developed nations are beset by similar health issues in relation to nutrition. Indeed, the majority of people in those countries consume an excessive amount of junk food on a regular basis causing malnutrition and obesity. There is a common assertion that a tax on its consumption would alleviate the problem. In my opinion, this suggestion alone would partially deter eaters from unhealthy snacks and not necessarily touch on the root cause. At first, the effect of a tax increase is that it raises the price of the product and, economically speaking, it would lower the demand for that particular kind of goods. More specially, alternative products such as vegetables, whole and organic food will relatively become cheaper and attract more sales. This is expected to turn more people into having a balanced diet. Nonetheless, the practice, though has been experimented with, has not become popular meaning the effectiveness of the tax increase is still debatable. On the other hand, the majority of those consumers live in big cities like New York or London with a typical day packed with work. Henceforth greasy fried chicken or hamburgers are their convenient choices to get by the day without spending too much time on preparation while still getting a decent level of satisfaction after a meal. For this reason, a spike in the price of those greasy options is comparatively small to their income and would not be enough to convince them toward eating more healthily. In conclusion, I would argue that a rise in the cost of unhealthy food due to adjustments in taxation will not lead to any desired results since their popularity still remains intact among key consumers.