Unpaid Community service should be a compulsory part of the high school programs (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood, or teaching sports to young children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As company social responsibility (CSR) is become obligatory for any corporation, unpaid community service for younger people is also required to be adopted as compulsory course in education curriculum. In my point of view, it is needed to become a mandatory program because it will grow the high schooler’s empathy and compassion within the society. However, the course has to be monitored carefully to ensure that it will run appropriately. To begin, community service is usually an optional program in the high school. However, it gives students great experience that can be very useful in their future. For instance, when the students work for charity program, they will learn that people have to help each other, a value that seems easy but sometimes difficult in the practical. Moreover, improving their neighbourhood could be a similar story, these young people can experience the art of living in the real society. It is necessary because, recently many high schoolers are just living in their virtual world called “the Internet”. However, the practical of this program could be harder than it seems. Handling a bunch of young people is not an easy task for the teachers. They should be helped by the other stakeholders such as parents, local public figures, local organizations, and so on. So, the integrated community program could be implemented well, In short, free community service should be considered as the part of educational system, it will increase several positive values such as empathy, compassion, and tolerance, so the students can adapt easier in the society in the future. While the monitoring mechanism should be conducted not only by teachers but also by the local public figures that have influence in the society.