An increasing number of children are overweight which could result many problems when they grow older both in terms of their health and health care costs. Why do you think so many children are overweight? What could be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, a growing number of minors are becoming obese. In my opinion, this could be because of the sedentary lifestyle and preference for fast food over a healthy diet. To prevent young children to become overweight parents should encourage them to have nutritious meals and indulge them in some physical activities during their spare time. One of the main reasons for obesity in juveniles is eating excessively unhealthy stuff. Despite tasting heavenly to the palate, it is generally full of carbohydrates and unsaturated fats which can cause other nutrients deficiency and other chronic diseases in the later stages of life. For instance, several studies have shown that the amount of sugar a fizz drink has is equivalent to 11 sachets of sugar. If these drinks are taken regularly, can accumulate fat quickly in the body. Additionally, a sedentary lifestyle can enhance fat accumulation at a much faster rate. This could be attributable to browsing the internet and playing video games during leisure hours. Hence, less physical activity can make worsen the overweight problem in juveniles. There are two clear solutions to this problem. Firstly, parents should educate their children about the adverse effects of preferring fast food as their regular meals and encourage them to have more nutritious food. For example, parents should minimise the ordering of food from restaurants and should start preparing three times healthy meals at home. Secondly, they can stimulate their minors to do some outdoor activities during their spare time. For example, juveniles can pick any sport or activity like hiking and rock climbing and do it daily instead of spending time on the internet and playing video games. The more they do outdoor exercises, the more they will burn extra fat and attain full body growth. In conclusion, I believe that an unhealthy diet and doing non-strenuous indoor activities during leisure hours have increased the number of overweight children. However, promoting them to have nutritious food more and indulging them in outdoor activities can solve their obesity problem in them.