Some people think it is essential to spend much money on a wedding ‎celebration, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.‎

Some countries have the tradition to have a big celebration for a wedding party while others don't. In Asian countries, it is common that people to celebrate weddings with big huge parties with a lot of guests. On the other hand, people in western countries tend to have a small yet intimate wedding party. I believe that both traditions are not wrong since, usually they have different cultures for celebrating wedding parties while there are pros and cons for each option. In the case of Indonesia, people tend to celebrate weddings hugely, sometimes the couple could invite up to one thousand guests depending on the ethnicity that the wedding party is based. For example, when my bataknese family is celebrating a wedding. They usually invite all of the family members even someone that they are not close to, and they celebrate it with traditional dances and songs which might cost a lot of fortune. However, it usually depends on the parents whether they want to celebrate the wedding in a traditional way or not. On the other hand, western people prefer small yet intimate parties which only involve close friends and family members. In my view, I think a small wedding celebration does not that it will not be memorable. On contrary, I believe the couple could enjoy an intimate moment with people that they are close with. In addition, they could spend their savings on honeymoon or housing instalments. In conclusion, people might spend their money on wedding celebrations depending on the views and traditions that they are celebrating with. While both small and big celebration has their own pros and cons, I think what matters is how the couple will get an amazing memory from the wedding celebration.