Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Convenience food and beverages are increasingly becoming popular among. The high sugar level in these products can have adverse effects on people’ health which result in some diseases such as diabetes and obesity. The opponents argue there should be a significant rise in the price of them due to prevent people from consuming them. In my view, I entirely agree with this perspective and the following paragraphs examine the reasons provided to support this thesis. The first and foremost impact of sugary products is on health. High level of sugar is not healthy for body and leads to several disease range from mild to severe issues. Diabetes and obesity are the two common illnesses as a direct effect of sweet foods and drinks especially in children who are not aware of these harmful products. For example, youngsters will be easily tempted to consume these food because of the false advertisement and effects of their peers. Thus, rule makers should make more taxes on these foods in order to make a substantial decrease in purchasing these drinks. Another important reason for reducing consumption of these products is their effects on brain. The research suggest that excess sugar might damage brain. It may cause one have a poorer memory and smaller brain volume overall. For instance, dementia might be developed in those who consumed high level of sugar compared to those who did not. Some other research demonstrates that the depression might be another cause of sugar consumption. Altogether, while there are still lack of solid evidence, the initial research has found some connections between high level of sugar and mental health. In brief, the excess amount of sugar has a huge influence on physical and mental illnesses namely diabetes and dementia, respectively. Therefore, policy makers are responsible and need to take action such as increasing tax amount and prohibiting sales of these drinks to people who are not aware of the adverse effects such as children and adolescents.