‘It is important for foreigners to know something about the history and culture of the country they live in.’ Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the current era of globalization, a lot of the population has moved to different countries for better opportunities such as education, work or a better lifestyle. As an ex-pat, there are several situations that need to be handled after moving to another country.I have been travelling and settling down in many countries in the last two decades. As per my experiences and also the problems I have faced during my last 20 years, learning the culture is very important as well as the history of the residing country. In student life, when a crowd move to a new country and most of them started facing issues and one of the most common is culture shock. For instance, "food" everyone has their way of cooking and eating but when they move to another part of the world they are confused about the products, methods of cooking as well as time to eat. In my case, when I moved to Poland and I am a foodie who eats three proper meals in a day but for the Polish community it's totally a different scenario, they have only two meals and evening they have only snacks instead of meals and they call dinner as for lunch. Also for me as an external, it was a big surprise when I saw them start consuming alcohol in the morning and working normally. Secondary in professional life, many families migrate to other countries just for better-paid jobs and settle with families in the new environment. Starting living in a new place is not easy as always, after sometimes when a family grows up and has children but still most people have no idea about the past situation in their current places. which is the most common reason why people have not integrated with the locals,especially in Europe. To conclude, I firmly believe that we must learn about the culture and history of the new society before migration.